conducting litigation for or against the Crown, superintending the acquisition of property and prosecutions under federal legislation other than the Criminal Code, administering federal statutes dealing with legal matters and providing administrative services for the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court. The Department also superintends the penitentiaries and administers the prison system of Canada.

The Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police operates under the direction of the Minister of Justice who also reports to Parliament for the National Parole Board.

Department of Labour.—The Department of Labour was established in 1900 by Act of Parliament (SC 1900, c. 24) and now operates under authority of the Department of Labour Act (RSC 1952, c. 72). The Department administers, under the Minister of Labour, legislation dealing with: industrial relations, investigation of disputes, etc.; fair employment practices; the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour; reinstatement in civil employment; female employee equal pay; government annuities; government employee compensation; merchant seamen compensation; technical and vocational training assistance; co-ordination of services for vocational rehabilitation of disabled persons; annual vacations with pay. It promotes joint consultation in industry through labour-management committees; organizes manpower utilization programs, e.g., farm labour; and operates a Women's Bureau. The Department publishes the Labour Gazette and other publications, as well as general information on labour-management, employment, manpower and related subjects.

The Canada Labour Relations Board acts on behalf of, and the National Technical and Vocational Training Advisory Council and the National Advisory Council on the Rehabilitation of Disabled Persons act in an advisory capacity to the Minister of Labour, and the Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian Government and the International Labour Organization. The Unemployment Insurance Commission, which maintains the National Employment Service, reports to Parliament through the Minister of Labour.

Library of Parliament.—The Library of Parliament as such was established in 1871 (SC 1871, c. 21) although it existed earlier. It currently functions under RSC 1952, c. 166 and SC 1955, c. 35. The Library of Parliament keeps all books, maps and other articles that are in the joint possession of the Senate and the House of Commons. The Parliamentary Librarian is also responsible for the House of Commons Reading Room. Persons entitled to borrow books from the Library of Parliament are the Governor General, Members of the Privy Council, Members of the Senate and the House of Commons, Officers of the two Houses, Justices of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court, and members of the Press Gallery. In addition, books are lent to other libraries and government agencies and reference service is given to scholars. The Parliamentary Librarian has the rank of a Deputy Head of a Department and is responsible for the control and management of the Library under the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons assisted by a Joint Committee appointed by the two Houses.

Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.—This Department was created by an Act of Parliament (SC 1949, c. 17) which received Royal Assent on Dec. 10, 1949. Its establishment resulted from the reorganization of certain former departments. A primary function of the Department is to provide technological assistance in the development of Canada's mineral resources through investigations and research in the fields of geology, mineral dressing and metallurgy. The Department establishes the framework of surveys throughout the country that provides control for all surveying and mapping in Canada. It produces the base maps used in the development of Canada's natural resources, conducts all the charting of Canada's coastal and inland waters, and issues official sailing directions and Canadian sea and air navigation charts. The Department is under the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys and is divided into five branches: the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Dominion Observatories, and the Geographical Branch. The Mineral Resources Division, a unit of head office, gives its whole attention to matters concerned with the economics of mineral resources development.

In 1959 the Department became actively interested in oceanography and made two major moves toward setting its program into motion: (1) the establishment of the Polar Continental Shelf Project to carry out a long-term investigation of the continental shelf lying north and west of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago and of the waters above it, together with the islands of the Archipelago and the straits and sounds between the islands; and (2) the setting up of a \$3,000,000 oceanographic institute in the Bedford Basin near Halifax which will have facilities for study in any phase of the science.

The Department administers the Explosives Act which regulates the manufacture, testing, sale, storage and importation of explosives, and the Emergency Gold Mining Assistance Act which provides cost-aid to the Canadian gold mining industry.

Boards and Commissions are: Canadian Board on Geographical Names; Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors; the International Boundary Commission; and the Interprovincial Boundary Commissions. The Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys reports to Parliament for the Dominion Coal Board.